Doll Quilt Dilemma

July 24, 2011 § 12 Comments

The Doll Quilt Deadline is sneaking up on little cat feet ….

A couple weeks ago, I made a start on a mini quilt for my oh-so-secret swappy partner.  It’s a paper pieced sampler in my favorite double scrappy color combination.  I was planning to add a large-ish scrappy border and quilt it very simply with parallel lines – maybe on the diagonal.

But for some reason, I’m not 100% happy with it.  Boo …  I wish I could put my finger on what is bothering me about this.  Maybe it’s the candy wrappers, maybe it’s the lack of symmetry, I can’t quite say, but something is bugging me here.

Should I just go on with it?  Or should I dive into these Japanese patchwork books and make a new start?

“Patchwork Lesson” and “Patchwork Patterns 318″ by Kumiko Fujita.  Oh, my, goodness.  I must say that all the excitement over these books is well deserved.  The “318” book is somewhat hard to find, I guess, but Lisa at “This and That From Japan” on etsy found one for me straight away.

This stack of Patchwork Lessons by Yoko Saito …

 

And this tome by Chuck Nohara:

 

These books are full to bursting with inspiration.

What do you think, my quilty friends?  Should I stick with the one I’ve already started or make another go of it?

§ 12 Responses to Doll Quilt Dilemma

  • Nicky says:

    I’d do a plain border if it were mine rather than a scrappy one in your aqua colour! And then once that was finished I’d dive into those gorgeous Japanese books!

    • I think you guys are right. I’ll add a simple border and binding and take another critical look at it then. This always happens to me somewhere along the line in the quilt-y process … the unfinished work just “bugs” me somehow!

  • nicolette says:

    I can¸’t see what is bothering you. I love it.
    Do you need a border for the size, because if not, I would quilt it and add a small binding in aqua.

  • Flying Blind says:

    Oh I think it is beautiful, and Nicky is right, a little turquoise border and pinky binding – hasn’t your secret partner commented on flickr?

  • Monica says:

    I don’t think the doll quilt is worth scrapping. But I do think you’re right about the candy wrapper fabric. It’s distracting and just doesn’t belong. I’d replace those areas with small appliques…a small flower, a vine with leaves, hexi letters, or something like that.

    • Monica, that is exactly what is bothering me about this little quilt. The wrappers are distracting and don’t look like they belong. Originally, I had pieces of plain fabric where the wrappers are and it looked too …. well, plain! So, I added the wrappers. And now, too busy. Those spaces are so very small, only 1 – 1 1/2 inches wide, and I don’t have the applique skills to do anything worthwhile in that small of a space … but maybe some embroidery? I’ll have to think that one over. Thanks for your comment!

  • Sheila says:

    I rather like the DQ – I think it’s hard to be asymettrical but it can look interesting. The candy wrapper fabric is different, I like it.
    I am thinking a wideish scrappy border might be too much without maybe breaking it up with a narrow one first, maybe in white? Have you ever tried a narrow double-fold border (1″ cut) inserted at the same time as an outer border, adds no width to quilt but makes like a photo mount, might be an idea.

    • Thanks, Sheila, I appreciate your help with this crazy problem I’ve created for myself …. Would that be something like a flange? I like that idea …. very much.

  • Yeah, maybe a tiny border with piping or a flange would be nice, simple but cute! If you partner likes it already, don’t scrap. She might like the new one too but why take the chance.

    • Wise words! She was really crazy about the flickr photo … if I redo it, it would just be for me, and who knows is she’ll like the new one. I’ll save my Japanese books for DQS 12.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Doll Quilt Dilemma at Gayle Brindley's Blog.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

