Life Has Its Ups and Downs … and Ups

September 3, 2011 § 13 Comments

First the ups, o.k.?

This week, my quilt from the Doll Quilt Swap (DQS11) arrived:

I am absolutely, positively beside myself with glee!

Paloma, aka ThreeKitchenFairies, made it for me and it is truly an amazing work of art.  I wish each one of you could see the little beauty in person to enjoy her wonderful hand work up close.  Each of the tiny petals has been hand appliqued to its background and then Paloma has hand quilted around all the petals.  Paloma’s attention to detail is beyond compare.  Each and every one of the fabrics she chose is lusciously beautiful, and so very much “me”.   You probably know how much I love the “double scrappy” look, right?   In fact, this little quilt is even more “me” than most of the things I make!

And if the beautiful little doll quilt weren’t enough, Paloma also sent along these special gifts:

A blank journal, which, of course, I’ve been a fan of since I was a teenager!  And this sweet piece of paper doll fabric from the American Jane collection by Sandy Klop.  I couldn’t include the whole piece in the photograph, but the colors are happy and rich and fab and the images are such fun.  I can’t wait for the right project to come along for these sweet little dolls and all their outfits and toys.

Thank you, Paloma!  I LOVE my quilt!

Now for the downs:

My family and I were away on vacation for the last two weeks of August.  We had a wonderful time in Seattle, Victoria and Vancouver B.C., then took the trans Canada train to Toronto.  As you might expect, the train had no wifi, no t.v., no newspapers.  We were blissfully cut off from the outside world.  Until we got to Toronto … and found out that hurricane Irene was making a bee-line straight for our home in Vermont.

When we got home, this is what we found:

The bridge to our home had been washed away in the flood.

My stepson Pete, along with his brand new two-week old son, Alexander, his wife, Blair and Blair’s mom had driven from NYC to Vermont, hoping to escape Irene’s wrath … little did they know they were putting themselves even more in her path.

They took this video moments after the bridge was swept away.

We are very lucky that our house and property were not harmed – just a tiny bit of water in the basement.  So many others around the state have had their homes and/or businesses flooded or completely washed away.  The devastation of the flood waters is breathtaking.

And so as not to end on a down note … Here is the latest photo of my HAL on the wall:

If my count is right (and very often it is not!) I only have 6 more blocks to go before I can start piecing the top together!  I’ve heard lots of ideas from my flickr friends about designing the final layout, but I would love to hear what you, my blog friends think.  Do you like the red in the outer edges?  Should I group the blues with the blues … the pinks with the pinks … the reds with the reds … Or is it such a mix of color and pattern that I shouldn’t really worry?

Note:  The GWB are my monogram as well as the initials of me, my son and my husband!  Fun how that worked out, isn’t it?

I am planning a small give-away next week … stay tuned!

Gayle

§ 13 Responses to Life Has Its Ups and Downs … and Ups

  • Rita says:

    A give a way ~~~ How fun is that..
    Hope things on the home front are getting back to normal.. enough so that you can enjoy the weekend, anyway.

  • jan says:

    A great quilt to arrive to cheer you up! Of course I’m continuing to love your hexie quilt. I so hope the bridge gets rebuilt soon. Thank goodness your home survive and you and your family were safe xx

  • Nicky says:

    Awful to come back to but glad you are all safe!

    Your quilt is lovely just as it is!

  • Sheila says:

    The power of nature never fails to surprise us – I am so glad you are all safe and sound.
    Your DQ is super, a little treasure.
    You know how much I admire your hexie quilt – I have had such a great hexie journey due to you and Lynne, and it hasn’t ended yet!

  • Nic says:

    So, I take it the bridge wasn’t the only way in to your house? Glad your home survived.
    That’s quite a hex wall buildingbup there. And very pretty too.

  • cauchy09 says:

    good to hear your house and everyone is okay. i hope they get the bridge back up soon.

    also? holy hexagons, batman!

  • broderie says:

    it takes a while to build bridges and the force of all that water is incredible! we know all about here in australia also this year. as long as you are all safe and sound. and you would expect me to say to keep your hexagons all mixed up ! take care gayle !

  • Julie L says:

    Maybe cluster all those pretty hydrangeas in the center–sort of medallion style?? Your work is a-mazing….Julierose

  • That quilt is so gorgeous, you lucky duck! I hope they repair your bridge quickly and I’m glad your house has survived intact.

  • Janine says:

    The doll quilt is lovely and your hexies are just fab. I like them mixed as they are. I hope you, your family and neighbours are all ok and you get your bridge back soon.

  • Leanne says:

    Wow, I am glad you had a wonderful time in Canada, I have yet to take that train ride but I have driven the route, it is beautiful. And I am glad you are not harmed, we were all watching the hurricane progress closely. Your hexagons are too wonderful, I don’t think there is any bad way to organize them.

  • Jennifer says:

    I am so glad that you and your family are alright, but what a homecoming!

    Your candied hexagons are gorgeous; I love them all mixed together, but a little random colour-clumping is part of the candied charm of it all. It’s wonderful.

  • You haven’t blogged in a while, Gayle. Are you ok?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Life Has Its Ups and Downs … and Ups at Gayle Brindley's Blog.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

